13 weeks, 5 days – CVS procedure

So today was the day of my CVS procedure. When I woke up I just couldn’t wait to get it over with, but on the journey to the hospital I got more and more nervous.

When we got there a midwife went through what would happen in the procedure and recovery time, etc. We met with the doctor, who was lovely and reassuring, very calm. It was quite a small room with a few staff in training. The doctor was very thorough, checking the baby, measuring the baby and telling me again what would happen in the procedure. So he smothered my stomach in alcohol (and I smothered!) before giving me two local anaesthetic injections followed by the needle which extracted the placenta cells. I’m not going to lie, it was uncomfortable, as I had the needle pricks and the ultrasound probe putting plenty of pressure on my uterus so that the doctor could see what he was doing. I didn’t look at the needles as I knew I’d tense up, but instead focused on the screen showing the baby and where he was putting the needle in. It only took about fifteen minutes from the moment we went in to the doctor’s office to the moment we left. I was reassured that we obviously got to see the baby and we heard its strong and steady heartbeat.

The doctor said that the increased miscarriage risk window is three weeks, but if I’m concerned at all I can go to my midwife and listen to the baby’s heartbeat on their doppler. I’ve got a midwife appointment booked anyway for next week, when I’ll be 15 weeks.

So it’s bed rest for me today and tomorrow, I’m then working from home for Thursday and Friday as I still need to take it easy. The doctor said we’ll have the results within 2-3 business days, so hopefully before the weekend. Will keep you posted.

Please leave a response, if you'd like to...

